The 2019 Awards

Congratulations to all the 2019 ExCEL Award Recipients

The annual awards ceremony, organized by Multicultural Student Programs and Services, took place in the Stern Ballroom.

The 2019 College Today Article  

This year’s honorees are:       

Outstanding Students of the Year

School of the Arts – María Carrillo-Marquina
School of Business – Renee Fraley
School of Education, Health, and Human Performance – Chak Or
School of Humanities and Social Sciences – Delaney Wallace
School of Languages, Cultures, and World Affairs – Alex Mielcarek
School of Professional Studies – Amber Leighton
School of Sciences and Mathematics – Adeyemi Oduwole
Honors College – Megan Minchak
Graduate School – Emily Jaskwhich

Outstanding Faculty of the Year

School of the Arts – Charles Calvert
School of Business – Rene Mueller
School of EHHP – Keonya Booker
School of HSS – Kris de Welde
School of LCWA – Juliette Bourdier
School of Sciences and Mathematics – Ashley Lavender
Honors College – Christine Finnan
The Graduate School – Susan Simonian

Outstanding Student Awards (specialized)

Female Student Athlete of the Year – Bri Sullivan
Male Student Athlete of the Year – Jarrell Brantley
Septima P. Clark Award – Sophia A. Emetu
Eugene C. Hunt: Graduating Senior – Victoria O. Bailey
Eugene C. Hunt: Rising Senior – Kassidy Sullivan
Lucille S. Whipper Award – Michael Simmons
Stephen Osborne and George Watt Bonner Leader – Bianca LaPaz
SCAMP Student of the Year – Amanda Anyim, Keyaira Morgan

Outstanding Staff Awards
Outstanding Staff Member of the Year – Lisa Christian and Sheree Grant
The Unsung Champion – Mary Bergstrom
Excellence in Customer Service – Alexandra Lile

Other Award Categories

Safe Zone Advocacy Award – Tessa Torgovitsky
Demetria N. Clemons Distinguished Mentor Award – Kenyatta Grimmage
Good Neighbor Award – Dorothy Harrison
Eddie Ganaway Distinguished Alumni Award – Derrick Williams ’99
Administrator of the Year Award – Myra Seaman

The Presidential Legacy Awards

The President Leo I. Higdon Outstanding Leadership Award – Patrick Smith
The President Theodore Stern Visionary Award – Demetria Noisette Clemons
The President Harry Lightsey Humanitarian Award – Ian Braddock